Reflection blog

In my initial blog post I said that I wanted to to explore more of m creative side and to improve my overall writing ability.  I feel like throughout this semester I have pretty much accomplished these goals considering that I have participated in several different activities and assignments that have pushed my creative and problem solving abilities. I have also written a substantial amount words throughout this semester which eventually leads to an overall improvement in my writing ability. l have also learned that big failures can lead to great success. Even though I feel that I have made progress throughout this semester I also feel that there is still much room for improvement. There are several aspects of this class that improved my overall writing ability. Among these were my several projects throughout the course of the semester. The two main projects that I am focusing on for my final writing portfolio are: the consumer essay, and the invention mob reflection. Both of these pieces of work are reflection essays. Being that both of them are reflection essays. I really enjoy writing reflection essays because they allow me to not only accomplish the task at hand, but they also allow me to further explore the assignment and master the material that is being covered. Even though this class is not a part of my major and the only reason that I took this class was because it is a UCORE requirement, I was able to focus on the several assignments throughout the semester because of the relative difficulty of my other classes since I took similar classes in high school. I also had the drive to become a better writer through this class since writing is not one of my strong suits. The reflection essays allowed me to focus on the rhetorical triangle and what was rhetoric. This fact alone helped me create better work.

Through out the entire semester we had to create several blog posts and narrowing them down to my favorite and least favorite is pretty hard. Overall, I saw the blog posts as an overall way to keep my writing skills in check and ready. The blog posts were homework assignments that allowed me to try and take little bits of my creative side, and transform them into a piece of decent homework.  I also liked the overall format of the blog posts as our homework. After the initial road bumps the blogs turned into an efficient and easy way to submit homework assignments. I would have to say that my favorite blog post throughout all of them would have to be the blog post that was my consumer essay reflection. I already mentioned earlier why I like reflection essay assignments and this one is no different. I liked this post the best because -one- I thought it was one of my best homework assignments, and -two- because it was a reflection essay that I enjoyed writing.  This reflection assignment allowed me to go over again what I was assigned and look at why I said what I said and how I completed and approached the assignment. Through this reflection, and in combination with the original assignment, I was able to see how I acted as a consumer, how the advertising industry acts towards consumer, and what I can do to change my consumer identity. The blog post that I would classify as my least favorite blog post would have to be the blog post about my second DIY homework. By this point in the year my mind was already pretty set on what I was going to do for my TED talk and my overall creativity was running dry. Also being that it was close to the end of a semester and next to a Chemistry exam, which plays a large part in my major, I was less than focused on the blog post assignment. The lack of creativity, focus, and effort is what lead to that poor and least favorite blog post.  I can describe the difference between my favorite blog post and my least favorite blog post in one word, enthusiasm. There was some enthusiasm present with my favorite blog and virtually none with y least favorite. If there is no enthusiasm present at all in any work that a person does, no matter the subject. There will be no good end product. Simply because no effort is given.

It is very hard to define a person and even harder to define yourself.  If I were to try and define myself, I would define my self as a very mechanical and technical person. Because of this I would say that in the whole scheme of writing I would be more of technical writer where I try to make my essay more organized and have them more structure. This is also why I had troubles when I was working with assignments that had open restrictions. I perform better under circumstances when I am giving a problem that needs to be solved through a certain set of constraints. As far as being an inventor I don’t really think of myself as an inventor because I still have trouble creating and inventing completely new and innovative things. I feel in a way that I could be a type inventor because I like and excel in the area of problem solving. Where I can invent a solution to a problem. I still don’t think I am much of a creator because my creative side is still fairly miniscule. Throughout this semester my creative side has grown a fair amount. Through assignments such as the invention mob and the TED talk I was forced to use my creative side and come up with innovative and new ideas and projects. The invention mob, for example, forced me and my group to create a project where we had to get a collaborative effort from the people around us and where the participants had to show us there creative side. We were able to accomplish this through a collaborative dance video in which people showed off there moves to the camera and we recorded them the put the video together by overlapping songs on top of their moves.The invention mob video turned out to be an overall success.

Through out the course of this class I have ben forced to tap into and increase my creative pool. This english 101 class was a very untraditional class and through this way I was able to grow and morph during this semester on my own terms and in my own way.

Leave a Reply

